Life Does Go On

Today I’m traveling home, home being San Miguel in Mexico. I’m traveling from one home, to another, with a mix of a heavy heart, a titch of homesickness (though for which one, I’m not sure), and the knowledge that my life is about to continue, with my feet hitting the ground. It’s such a strange feeling of letting myself laugh and plan for the future after someone so goddamn near and dear to my heart doesn’t get to ever do that again. But that’s what he’d want anyways.

It’s never easy to mourn the unexpected passing of anyone, be it friend or family, and unfortunately, I know it all too well. What does make it easier though, is surrounding yourself with the people that were shared in life, and now in death. The last week has been one of the hardest, emotionally, that I’ve ever experienced, but it was also huge in helping me to start healing. Skettio once again has a way of bringing people together, new and old, that he would’ve loved.

The memories that were made over the last week/weekend, and the friendships rekindled, will always hold an extra special place in my heart. I cross my heart that I will stay in touch even more, take moments to reach out to those who might need it extra, and take better care of myself so we never have to go through this again. I promise to pay more attention to those close to me, near and far, and offer hugs and kisses because that always makes me feel better. I vow to live my life to the fullest, and appreciate each experience I have, and be grateful to those who’ve supported me in getting there. I swear to reach out if I ever need a shoulder to lean on, and not take on everything by myself.

Once again, I raise my cup to you, my crazy friend, and know that you’re somewhere with everyone else we’ve ever loved and lost, smiling down on us on this little pebble. I ❤ you big guy.

Leave a Reply

