My August PR Was Awesome!

Due to the recent, large and disgusting fires in my neck of the woods, my CrossFit gym has been keeping high energy workouts on the back burner. This means we’ve been focusing on strength, which I love. It always makes my day to see how much heavier I’m lifting than the time before when we’re focusing on strength training.

Yesterday rather than do Kelly {which I was really looking forward to because I ♥ ♥ ♥ box jumps!} we worked on a 10 – 1 series of deadlifts. What that means is that we started out with 10 deadlifts at around 55% of our 1 rep max and increased the weight while going down in reps to 1 really heavy lift. {10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1}

My 1RM is/was 145 lbs. which I figured out when I did the CrossFit Total WOD and my partner’s is/was 135 lbs. We worked off of her numbers, starting at a measly 85 pounds. We increased by 10 lbs each round and figured we’d go that route until we could do no more. But do it we did!!

We did it 10 times, each of us reaching a new PR at 175 lbs!!

Happy Dance

Us doing the happy dance.

I could not have been happier! I can’t wait to cross the 200 lbs threshold like some of my CF girls have already done! Next time. . . next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

