So this is what I’m up to this summer

I can’t believe I did this but a little over 3 weeks ago I decided I was going to plant a vegetable garden. I started out just wanting to have some herbs on hand like Basil, Chives and Cilantro because you know, I hate buying that shit. It ends up going to waste before I use it all up and when I try to dry it – well it gets gross.

Why can’t I believe it? A few reasons. One is because I have a black thumb and always have. Another reason is because I’m lazy, lazy, LAZY. The few times I’ve ever worked in a garden I lasted all of 15 minutes before succumbing to sun/heat stroke and a hurt back from being bent over. The last, and most important, is that I have absolutely NO idea what I’m doing.

But whatever, I got the bug up my ass one weekend and stopped in at the local garden center (one of them anyways, I don’t really have a preference) and picked up seeds for lettuce, tomatoes, squash, bell peppers and strawberries. As of today, everything but the peppers and strawberries have started sprouting. Here’s my little garden!

BPJones's Veggie Garden

It’s hard to see exactly what’s going on here but it doesn’t matter because by next Sunday (fingers crossed) almost all of my little sprouts will be moved to bigger, more permanent pots. I am a little disappointed about the peppers and strawberries but I’m not giving up! I’ll keep watering them and making sure they’re getting the light they need until the snow starts falling again.

Oh, and I’m quite partial to the lettuce as it seems to have been named after my grandfather…

Grandpa Admire's Lettuce

Leave a Reply

