I’m on My Way – Warning: This is Long

*This post was originally written 01/14 and 01/15

Here I am sitting a little plane that’s headed to LA. I was fortunate enough to fly out of Hailey rather than having to drive 2.5 hours away to Boise or even 5 hours to Salt Lake. Why would I have to do that, one who lives near a ‘real’ airport might ask. Well, I’ll tell you – it’s because my final destination today (actually tomorrow at 6:35 am) is Mexico.

Trying to get out of my little valley in Idaho is such a pain in the ass. First of all, it costs almost twice as much to land in Hailey as opposed to Boise. If you do decide to shell out the cash during the winter, you pretty much have a 30/70 chance of actually flying to your destination. Most of the time you end up getting bussed in from Boise anyways. Is it because of the weather? Maybe, but usually it’s because the flights to Boise aren’t booked with enough bodies so they’ll borrow passengers from other flights. Honestly, I don’t know if this is indeed fact, but I’ve been bussed in on enough clear days to have my suspicions.

Well shit. Jump ahead 14 hours and you’ll find me at the Benito Juarez Airport, aka the Mexico City airport. Hoooollllyyy cannoli, it is large. Also, there is no one here that speakas da English. Fortunately, I speak very little and very poor Spanish so I can get by. And did I mention that my flight was at 1:05 in the morning out of LAX and I’m tired as eff right now? I think I forgot to say that for most of the 3.5 hour flight I felt like throwing up (something I ate, not nerves. Maybe both?). Also that the bus I planned on taking (yes, a bus, in Mexico) to my grandmother’s house left like right when my plane was landing? Yeah, all of that.

I should also inject here that traveling to Mexico goes completely smoothly for me .05% of the time. That’s a very small number for a success rate for me and I have a patient as hell sister who can testify. Is it always my fault? Absolutely not, but something almost always happens to me. There was the time Jamsicle and I were meeting up with dear ol’ dad for a quick family reunion trip to Mexico and our tickets disappeared – in the span of Jamsicle and I walking from one ticket counter to another. I shit you not, the tickets vanished from my hands. I searched up and down LAX in an effort to find them. I retraced my steps over and over again to no avail. Outcome? Trip cancelled, tears of embarrassment and shame shed, and an overall nice weekend visiting our daddy. What happened to those tickets, you ask? Well, they did eventually turn up almost a year later in the back of Jamsicle’s closet – in fucking Idaho!!! No, sissy did not secretly have them the whole time. We of course checked our luggage once getting to daddy’s house.*

Ok, back to the present here. Missed the initial bus, and the next one won’t be till 8:30 pm, but I know that Mexico’s got my back. The helpful young lady at the bus counter told me I could bus to Queretero (an amazing historical town not far from my hometown that I recommend one visits if one is in the area) and take another bus to Celaya, the homestead. I said hell yeah. I then called my aunt to have her call my grandma to let her know the arrival time change and being the saint that she is, suggested I get picked up in Queretero. Thank god! I’m so freaking tired…

So I am now, FINALLY, on the almost last leg of a very long trip. How long? Well, I left Idaho 1/14/13 at 11:30 am and it is now 1/15/13 at 8:37 am. By the time I get to my grandma’s house, it will be 1:00, 12:00 Idaho time and I will have travelled just over 24 hours straight.

And that’s how I got to Mexico!

*I have pixies. They pull this crap on me often.*

Leave a Reply

