If Only I Had the $$$

Monday November 19 is the last day of a 30 day Paleo Challenge I’ve been doing with some other chicks from work and the Crossfit gym I (used to) attend. Needless to say, it’s been difficult. This isn’t the first challenge I’ve done. In fact, it’s the 4th and it couldn’t have come at a better time. I was eating like crap, staying out too late drinking and not doing anything to get my heart rate up. To sum up, I felt like shit.

The first 2 weeks I didn’t exercise as my schedule was nucking futs. In the other challenges I had participated in, getting 3 – 5 Crossfit workouts in a week was crucial. Because this challenge wasn’t through the CF gym, it wasn’t a priority, but I knew I needed to get back into it regardless. I wanted to get back into CF and get back to increasing my 1 rep max’s, but budgetary reasons made me join the local ‘Y’ instead, which is actually an amazing gym. There’s a pool, a pool slide, saunas, a cycling room, a rock climbing wall, the best/latest in equipment and weights as well as classes in yoga, ski conditioning and overall aerobics. It’s pretty impressive.

Anyways, I went to a couple of classes, got the sweat going, the heart pounding, the breathing heavy, etc. I was a bit sore for a day or two – but it wasn’t Crossfit. 😦

The other evening, after a pretty good ski conditioning class, I decided to finally check out the weight area. I did some ring rows, wall pushups and overhead stretches to work on my injured shoulder (don’t look too impressed – it was a drunken fall-on-my-face mishap). I was feeling pretty darn good and thought I’d try something else. Hmmm… what should I do next… Turkish Get Ups! Here’s an example of what those are:

(I decided to stick with a 15 pound dumbbell myself.) I did 5 on each side. That is 5 on the left and 5 on the right. That’s only 10. That ain’t a lot. My heart was pounding harder in those 3 minutes than in the entire 45 minute class I had just attended. Made me miss my 5B like the Dickens!

As I mentioned previously though, while my muscles scream ‘YES PLEASE!!!” my wallet solemnly says ‘Nope’ for the time being. If you’re fortunate enough to be able to Crossfit, then thank your lucky stars!

And until I can get back in there, I’ll try my hand and doggy paddling and rock climbing. A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

