To the Past, Present & Future

A new year is upon me once again. To start my 2012, I’ve been in bed with one of the nastiest colds I’ve ever had. While that has been terrible, it’s also been a good time to reflect – at least while I wasn’t utterly and completely delirious.

20120105-002836.jpg

For me, 2011 started dubiously. A great friend and overall person had passed away at the end of 2010, and another equally great friend and person had died right at the start of the new year. While death is part of the great cycle of life, it’s still a painful ordeal we must go through. But go through it I must, and did.

20120105-003723.jpg

I spent 2011 traveling to NYC for a job that I love and am extremely fortunate to have. I went to the almost-pristine beach of Troncones, Mexico for a cousin’s wedding that was one of the most beautiful I’ve seen. In July, I attended ComiCon in San Diego and had one of the most amazing experiences ever with a group of close friends. None of us wanted it to be over, but we always have next time! I spent countless hours with my loved ones in Idaho, but not enough with those in LA. (I’m coming down in February or March guys, I promise!) I helped some of my best friends in new business ventures and got to see the people and professionals they’d become since elementary school. I said goodbye to a decade full of wild times and great memories – and turned 30! (I still don’t know how I really feel about that yet.) I climbed (almost to the very top) Idaho’s tallest mountain, and I vow to return and conquer it this year.

20120105-004803.jpg

And there has been so much in between.

I’m not one to make resolutions, so I don’t know what this year will hold for me exactly, but I do know there will be exciting trips to new and old places alike. Fascinating people to get to know from all walks of life. I have goals that will be accomplished. In this next year, I’ll face lessons to be learned, and taught. I will make mistakes, of that I am sure, but as I have in the past, and will in the future, I’ll learn from those mistakes, and better myself. And yes, don’t think I’ve forgotten it. There will be CrossFit, and a whole lot of it. So I’m ready 2012. Let’s see what’s in store for me, and everyone else.

Happy New Year’s!!

20120105-005919.jpg

Leave a Reply

