My Impending 30th Birthday – It’s Happening. Ugh.

Well, I think the title says it all. If you didn’t already know, this year is it – I am turning the big 3-0. I’ve managed to keep the fear and loathing at bay for the majority of the of the last 362 days, but I can’t fight it anymore. Aaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhh!

 

I still can’t believe it. Rather than wallow in old maid misery though, I’ve decided to actually accomplish something on this benchmark day. I am going to – drumroll please! – climb Mt. Borah.

20110907-074440.jpg

Mt. Borah

‘Why are you doing this?’, you may be asking yourself. ‘Why not have a large shindig, complete with friends, family and obnoxious 30 year old decorations?’ Well, to be honest, it’s been done. Don’t misunderstand, I love me a big party complete with good food and beer, but I’ve done it before. I did it last year, the year before, and the year before that. This birthday is more of a milestone to me than any others. I have friends and family who never made it to their 30th birthdays, and the fact that I did is very important to me. It’s much more important than a party.

I’ve come to realize that the closer I’ve been getting to 30, the more important it is for me to challenge myself both physically and mentally. It’s what will keep me alive and energetic. I must keep my body as active as my mind; it will be the physical version of doing Soduko.

Climbing this giant mountain is going to be grueling, I know this, but when I reach the top, it will probably be one of the most exhilarating moments of my life, and I honestly can’t wait! This will be the best birthday present that I’ve given myself ever.

2 thoughts on “My Impending 30th Birthday – It’s Happening. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

