Getting Back on the Track…..

……the Paleo/Crossfit track, to be exact. In January, 5B Crossfit did a 2 month Paleo nutrition challenge, and I killed it. I dropped at least one dress size, my skin was glowing, and I felt awesome! I was getting compliments and sweet talk all around – and who’s going to deny that that is just what you need to hear sometimes! When the challenge was done, I stuck with the Paleo diet pretty well. I was doing at least 80/20 (80% paleo, 20% cheats) and still felt great. I was also still going to the gym 3 – 4 times a week. After a couple long weekends though, I was eating whatever I could find. My water intake went down, and I was struggling to get in my 8 hours of sleep.

Well, I just made it back to the gym today for my first time in over 2 months, and it felt great! Granted, my arms and chest are going to be so awfully sore tomorrow (thank you Jordan Baker). I’ve started a new challenge with some co-exercisers to focus in some personal goals and exceed them. That starts September 1, and I’m really looking forward to it. I need the push. I need the encouragement. I need to know that other people are out there, depending on me to help get to a goal as a team as well as an individual.

For this challenge, we each picked two personal goals for ourselves, and the rest of the group picked a goal as well. Mine are below.

1. Crossfit at least twice a week; work on my 1 mile run once a week
2. Eat Paleo 3 – 4 times a week
3. Sleep for at least 8 hours a night (thanks JZ)

I feel my biggest challenge will be goal number 2. I’ve been working in a beer bar/bike shop called Power House and everything is irresistible! That’s why I’m borrowing this little diagram from the awesome WOD Love girls.

20110830-113346.jpg

That ought to do it! I’ll let you know what my first Paleo meal is – I still have about 24 hours to pig out! Oink! Oink! I’ll be tracking my progress thru numbers and pictures – mostly numbers.

Good night. (This would’ve been a sleep fail for sure!)

Leave a Reply

