My New Bike – Yay!

About a month ago one of the many local bike shops had a bike swap. This wasn’t a ‘bring in your junky bike and swap it for another junky bike’ kind of event. Oh no – this was a sale of top of the line bikes that people had loved and nurtured before getting the New Bike itch. There were tons of bikes that were easily over 1k, and those were the ones I wanted of course.

A. I don’t have that kind of cheddar.
B. I don’t have those kind of skills.
C. I don’t know the first thing about the kind of upkeep a bike of that stature would require.

I didn’t have a lot of time to look around and ask a ton of questions, and even if I did, the place was packed!! There were parents there with their cute little kids, buying their first ‘big girl/boy’ bikes. There were people there I recognized as ‘professional’ road bikers. It seemed like everyone was there! Needless to say, I was feeling a bit overwhelmed with all my options. I am a beginner. I hadn’t ridden more than 2 miles since I was a kid and distances only mattered if you were trying to get home for dinner.

And then, there she was…… Lined up with all the other bikes. And red! I tried lifting it – very light. I tried sitting on it – just about perfect height. I squeezed the brakes – brand new pads. I looked at the price tag – affordable!! Sold, to the girl looking super stoked! It’s a Trek 900 series, and it’s awesome. Just see for yourself!

red trek bicycle, brand new, bike swap

Red Bike

Some of you who know me on a personal level know that I bought a bike last year as well. ‘Why would you need a new so soon?’ you may be wondering. I’ll tell you, while I love that bike so, so much, it’s just not practical for longer distance riding. It’s incredibly heavy and slows me down so much. The seat seems to be really close to the handle bars, making long rides fairly uncomfortable. And, overall, it’s just not that kind of bike. This one is. My goal for this summer is to ride this bike to and from work once a week; that’s a total of 36 miles! I know I can do it, and I know this bike can too.

Leave a Reply

