Family Travels

I know, I know. I’ve been m.i.a. for over a week now! I have a good reason though: I was seeing my family. In one, short week I visited grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins and sisters in California and Mexico. Sounds crazy, I know, and trust me, it was. Family is always stressful, and when you’re on a tight schedule to see everyone, it becomes more stressful because they want to spend more time with you. But I love my family – very much, and it’s important for me to make time for them.

Going to California was the easy part. Getting there was the easy part. Traveling out of Idaho is no walk in the park, let me tell you. Unless you’re wealthy enough to fly out of the town I live in, you have to drive 2 1/2 hours away to Boise to get anywhere.

Stop B. This post isn’t about complaining. It’s not about putting my family down. This post is about how important my family is to me. Growing up, I didn’t take to heart ‘blood is thicker than water’. I thought it was b.s. because I thought my friends were the most important. I now understand that while my friends are still important, they aren’t the most important. Family is what is important, and the sub-cultures within a family are as diverse as traveling the world.

My sisters are more different than any of my friends, giving me firsthand insight into motherhood, and princess-hood. One of my grandmothers is from England, so I now know what it was like to live in the country, in England, and hear bombs destroy small towns close by. My remaining grandfather was literally a rocket scientist, working for Boeing in his early years and meeting my grandmother during WWII. The two of them have told countless stories of their travels across a very young, very different America.

Mí familia Mexicana is an entirely different, yet equally exciting, part of my history. I’ve learned about great-grandparents coming to Mexico from Spain. My ancestors used to run guns and other supplies between the natives and the Spaniards, fueling their bellies as well as their guns. In the current generation, one cousin is a successful, professional chef, trained at the Cordon Bleu in Paris, with an amazing French restaurant in her home town. Another cousin is quickly rising in the ranks of Corona beer while his brother is rising equally fast in Pemex, an oil company in Mexico.

My family, like most others, is amazing. I can’t wait until my niece and nephew grow up and start creating their own personalities, stories, successes. It will be so exciting when all my new baby cousins meet each other and learn just how varied a family can be. It’s important to remember to not take family for granted. I love my family.

Leave a Reply

